top of page

March 2023

BAAJ Sports defeat Cadets to win

The Bay Oval is likely to be the only international cricket ground in the country, where genuine grassroots players have the opportunity of playing on a world class wicket, once a season.


On Sunday 12th March 2023, the finale of the McNaughton Trophy was played out on the Mount Maunganui premier cricket wicket, between two Western Bay of Plenty Reserve Grade sides.
The McNaughton Trophy was presented by Te Puke's McNaughton family for Reserve Grade Competition in the 1986/87 cricket season. Firstly, the McNaughton prize was contested by Western Bay sides, before becoming a Baywide Reserve Grade Championship in 2001.
This year's Bay of Plenty Cricket competition, kicked off with 13 Western Bay sides, along with Rotorua's Geyser and Central Club teams and an Eastern Bay of Plenty representative team.
Eastern Bay of Plenty, Mount Maunganui, Baaj Sports & Cultural Club and Cadets won through to the semi-finals on the 19th of February 2023.
Cadets had a nail-biter against Eastern Bay, at one stage being 5/29, before chasing down their target of 126 for the loss of seven wickets. Baaj Sports cruised to eight wicket win over Mount Maunganui to advance to the McNaughton Trophy title decider.
Otumoetai Cadets won the toss and elected to field, with the decision paying early rewards, with the first two Baaj wickets falling with just two runs on the board.
Deepak Singh stemmed the tide of destruction with 32 off 50 balls. The arrival of Varinder Sandhu at the crease with his team struggling at 132 for the loss of six wickets, upped the ante.
Sandhu was still at the crease at the end of the allotted forty overs, with an unbeaten 46, with the scoreboard showing Baaj Sports had finished at 221 runs for the loss of nine wickets. Joel Griffiths, finished with four wickets at a cost of 23 runs which included the three top-order batsmen.
Cadets made a measured start to chasing the solid target before losing their first wicket at the 45 run mark.
Baaj Sports then unleashed their attack weapon of Amritpal Singh with deadly effect. The Baaj second change bowler, mesmerised the opposition batters, as he grabbed six successive wickets for just 16 runs. The Amritpal Singh eight-over bowling spell, included three maiden overs, without any additional extras. 
Cadets were dismissed for 146, with the first ball of the 34th over, to hand Baaj Sports an imposing 75 run win. Opener, Sam Owen top scored with a neat half-century, with Joel Griffiths batting at nine posting 31 runs.
McNaughton Trophy 2023 Final @ Bay Oval, 12 March 2023
Baaj Sports 221/9 (Varinder Sandhu 46no, Deepak Singh 32, Lucky Singh 30; Joel Griffiths 4/23) defeated Otumoetai Cadets 146 (Sam Owen 50, J Griffiths 31; Amarpreet Singh 6/16)
Bay of Plenty Cricket McNaughton Trophy Champions
2021 R&A Sangha, 2020 R&A Sangha/Mount Maunganui - shared because of Covid 19, 2019 Papamoa, 2018 Mount Maunganui, 2017 R&A Sangha Raavi XI, 2016 R&A Sangha Raavi XI, 2015 Katikati, 2014 Mount Maunganui, 2013 Katikati, 2012 Mount Maunganui, 2011 Mount Maunganui, 2010 Katikati, 2009 Cadets, 2008 Central, 2007 Mount Maunganui, 2006 Mount Maunganui, 2005 Cadets, 2004 Cadets, 2003 not played, 2002 Mount Maunganui, 2001 Mount Maunganui,

bottom of page